Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Jul 16, 2018

RUSS hears updates, elects officers

By TRISHA PHELPS | Jul 15, 2014

MT. PLEASANT (GTNS) – The Regional Utility Service System named officers and committees for Fiscal Year 2015 and heard an update on the Argyle wastewater project at a recent meeting.

During the engineer’s report, Kent Rice from French-Reneker-Associates informed the board that the project in Argyle is moving along and he hopes to get construction underway soon.

“The contract [for the Argyle project] has been approved by Rural Development, so it has now been submitted to the contractor,” said Rice. “They are ordering materials now and would like to move in and start work the last week of July.”

Rice informed the board that before any work could be done a pre-construction conference would need to be held and a notice to proceed would need to be signed on behalf of RUSS.

“I think that since the board approved the contract it includes the notice to proceed,” said Executive Director Bruce Hudson.

“[The project] has already been approved by the board, so all we would need now is for Bruce to sign the notice,” said Jim Cary, supervisor from Des Moines County.

The pre-construction conference is scheduled for 10 a.m. July 23 at the shelter house in Argyle.

During the annual meeting, it was voted that many of the supervisors would remain in their positions as officers on the RUSS board. Daryl “Deke” Wood of Keokuk County would remain as chairman, Chris Ball of Louisa County remains as treasurer and Lee Dimmitt was elected as vice-chairman.

The committees will consist of Greg Moeller, Henry County, Bob Waugh, Van Buren County, and Cary to be the finance committee; Dimmitt, Wood and Ball to serve as policy committee; Cary, Dimmitt and Moeller as personnel committee; and Wood, Dimmitt and Ball will serve as the legal committee.

Ernie Schiller of Lee County, Jack Seward Jr. of Washington County, Mike Vander Molen of Mahaska County and Greg Kenning of Wapello County will not be serving in any capacity as officers or committee members of RUSS for FY 2015.

Schiller’s term as a supervisor for Lee County will expire as of Jan. 1, so he elected to not serve the board in any official capacity.

Vander Molen was in attendance at the meeting, however he did not participate in any capacity, choosing instead to sit in the public seating area.

The board will meet again on Aug. 13, at 1 p.m. at the Henry County Emergency Management Building.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.