Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 17, 2017

4-H’ers, volunteers earn honors, awards

Nov 20, 2012
PHOTO SUBMITTED Juanita Bray, who is retiring this year, was named an Honorary 4-H Member. She receives a plaque and clock from Brian Taglauer, president of the Jefferson County 4-H Youth Committee.

The annual Jefferson County 4-H Awards Night was Nov. 10 at the Jefferson County Fairgrounds Activity Building.

4-H members were honored for their achievements in the 2011-2012 4-H year, and adult volunteers were recognized for their dedication to the Jefferson County 4-H program.

4-H is a program which encourages fun-filled educational experiences. Members attend monthly meetings and learn about project areas of their choice. The members also give presentations to clubs, perform community service and help organize fundraisers for clubs, as well as the county program. Members create exhibits for the Jefferson County Fair based on their project areas or educational experiences they have had throughout the year.

At the end of the year, members complete their record books along with an application highlighting projects. Awards are then given based on the information submitted by the member.

For the 2011-2012 year, the Jefferson County 4-H program also recognized each member for the years of membership with a certificate, a year pin and a Jefferson County banner. These items were presented to each member regardless of completion of a record book.

For more information on the 4-H program in Jefferson County, contact Kaye Gilbert at the Jefferson County Extension Office at 472-4166 or kayeg@iastate.edu.


Project award winners

Project Awards recognize 4-H members for their achievement in a project area. Members must meet set criteria to be eligible for these awards, including being in grades 5-12 and being enrolled in a project area for a minimum of two years.

Beef — Kelly Lacey

Food & Nutrition — Chelsea Lanphier

Health — Kaitlyn Daugherty

Home Improvement — Jordan Baker and Aaron Shaw

Photography— Kristen Daugherty and Ethan Tillis

Poultry — Lewis Thomes and Taylor Thomes

Rabbit — Lewis Thomes and Taylor Thomes

Self Determined — Kelly Lacey

Sewing & Needle Arts— Kaitlyn Daugherty, Kristen Daugherty and Kelly Lacey

Sheep — Kelly Lacey

Swine — Brandon Taglauer and Lewis Thomes

Vet Science — Kelly Lacey

Visual Arts — Kristen Daugherty and Chelsea Lanphier

Woodworking — Jeremiah Baker and Joshua Baker


Major awards

Major Project Awards recognize 4-H members at a Senior level, grades 9-12, who have completed at least three years in 4-H and have demonstrated outstanding growth through participation in a project area as well as a variety of 4-H projects and programs. The members would also serve in various leadership roles in and/or beyond their local clubs.

Achievement — Kaitlyn Daugherty, Danielle Garrison and Brandon Taglauer

Agriculture — Brandon Taglauer

AK-SAR-Ben — Danielle Garrison

Danforth Leadership — Kaitlyn Daugherty, Danielle Garrison and Brandon Taglauer


Stan Stover Award

The Stan Stover Award is an award given to a 4-H member who is currently a senior in high school, has been in good standing for at least five years as well as has maintained a good record book for each 4-H year. Members must exhibit leadership qualities and should contribute to 4-H outside of their local club. This is a nominated award.

Stan Stover — Kaitlyn Daugherty


Other awards

Club Historian Book — Penn Workers

Herdsman Award sponsored by the Jefferson County Fair Board — Overall winner: Packwood Trojans


Outstanding members

Outstanding member awards recognize a member’s over-all 4-H participation. Members have demonstrated leadership skills beyond the local club level and have shown outstanding personal growth through participation in a variety of 4-H work.

Outstanding Juniors (grades 5-6) — Kristen Daugherty.

Outstanding Intermediates (grades 7-9) — Kelly Lacey, Chelsea Lanphier and Mitchell Taglauer

Outstanding Seniors (grades 10-12) — Jennifer Clements, Kaitlyn Daugherty, Danielle Garrison, Brandon Taglauer and Ethan Tillis.


Leader recognitions

4-H volunteers are recognized each year for their dedication and hard work to the program. Four leaders were recognized for reaching milestone markers in the 2011-2012 year

5 Years of Service — Michelle Kocour

25 Years of Service — Eileen Pickard

30 Years of Service — Marvin Larson

35 Years of Service — Shirley Stanley


Shooting Sports

Members belonging to the Jefferson County Shooting Sports club also were recognized for dedication to the club by attending regular meetings and participation in events by the club: Konor Burkhart, Cordell Filson, Michael Flournoy, James Kyle, Kelly Lacey, Aaron Shaw, Rachel Shaw, Mitchell Taglauer and Ethan Tillis.


County Teen Council

The induction of the 2012-2013 Jefferson County Teen Council also took place. Members must be in grades 9-12 and active in a club to be eligible for the County Teen Council.

2012-2013 Council members are: Brandon Taglauer, president; Ethan Tillis, vice president; Danielle Garrison, secretary/treasurer; Josh Baker, Avery Bennett, Natalie Jones, Austin Lauderman, Ashley Nelson, Mallory Reed; Aaron Shaw; Trent Taglauer and Lewis Thomes.


Retirees recognized

Jefferson County is losing two volunteers to retirement this year. The program recognized the years of dedicated service given by these members by presenting them with gifts and certificates: Linda McIntire and Juanita Bray.


Honorary 4-H member

Honorary 4-H members are nominated by members, leaders and parents. This award is presented to someone who has had an influence on the 4-H program. The person is active in 4-H programs, activities, provides leadership and does those extra little things to help and encourage 4-H members, leaders, families and staff: Juanita Bray and Phyllis Harris.


4-H Hall of Fame

The 4-H Hall of Fame inductee, who was inducted into the 4-H Hall of Fame in August at the Iowa State Fair, is presented a plaque by the Iowa 4-H Foundation as recognition for outstanding service and dedication to 4-H: Mark Goehring.

Click below to see this complete page.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.