Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 19, 2017

4-H Youth Committee seeking members

Oct 17, 2013

The Jefferson County 4-H Youth Committee is searching for individuals who would like to serve on the committee.

Two seats are opening at the end of December, and at least three seats are opening at the end of December 2014.

The Jefferson County Extension Council appoints the 4-H Youth Committee members. The youth committee is an active volunteer group that works in cooperation with local Extension staff, including Jefferson County 4-H Youth Coordinator Courtney Taglauer.

The committee’s purpose is to develop and implement a balanced 4-H program for Jefferson County supporting the mission of the Iowa 4-H program, and also to serve in an advisory capacity to the local 4-H staff.

The committee helps with program assessment and planning; making sure affirmative action is followed; promoting 4-H in the community; recruiting volunteers; ensuring an adequate budget and helping to raise additional funds; and much more.

Currently, the youth committee, which runs the food booth at the grandstand during the county fairs, is researching the possibility of replacing the building, with help from the Jefferson County Fair Board and community contributions.

Monday evening, committee members finished reviewing and judging 4-H’ers’ record books and now are planning to help at the annual 4-H Awards Banquet set for Nov. 9 in the Jefferson County Fairgrounds Activity Building.

The youth committee meets the second Monday of the month at the Jefferson County ISU Extension Office.

The 15-member committee is made up of 12 adults and three youth, with at least one youth from the Jefferson County 4-H Teen Council.

An adult youth committee member can serve up to three consecutive two-year terms. Adult terms run from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31. The terms of Everett Lacey and Kevin Peters are ending Dec. 31 as they both have served on the committee for six consecutive years.

Other adult members of the committee are president Lori Stever, Jennifer Baker, Jodi Hellweg, Brian Hollander, Gene Hoy, Kim Keller, Dave Lock, Jaime Martin, Sherry Taglauer and Vicki Tillis.

The youth members, who just finished their one-year terms, were Brandon Taglauer, Ethan Tillis and Danielle Garrison. Tillis, who was elected president of the Jefferson County 4-H Teen Council for 2013-14, plans to continue serving on the youth committee this year.

Anyone who would like more information or have their name placed on the list to serve on the Jefferson County 4-H Youth Committee can call a member of the committee or contact Courtney Taglauer at 472-4166 or ctag@iastate.edu.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.