Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 25, 2018

Applications sought for next Iowa Teacher of Year

Mar 08, 2018
Andy Hallman/Ledger archive photo Fairfield High School English teacher Scott Slechta, now retired, gives his acceptance speech after winning the 2016 Teacher of the Year Award from the Iowa Department of Education in November 2015 at the FHS auditorium.

DES MOINES — Applications are being accepted for the 2019 Iowa Teacher of the Year. The deadline to nominate is April 27.

The award is an opportunity to recognize an exceptional Iowa teacher who is helping to redefine education. Nominations will be accepted from anyone, including students, parents, school administrators, colleagues, college faculty members, and associations.

The Iowa Teacher of the Year award was established in 1958. The annual program is sponsored by the Iowa Department of Education through an appropriation from the Iowa Legislature. Winners are chosen by a committee that includes representatives of the Iowa Department of Education, the Iowa State Education Association, the School Administrators of Iowa, the Parent Teacher Association, the Area Education Agencies, the Iowa Association of School Boards, the Iowa Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, and the current Iowa Teacher of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year serves as an ambassador to education and as a liaison to primary and secondary schools, higher education, and organizations across the state.

Aileen Sullivan of the Ames Community School District was named the 2018 Teacher of the Year.

Former Fairfield High School English teacher Scott Slechta was the 2016 Teacher of the Year.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.