Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 19, 2017

Area school district elections set Tuesday

By DIANE VANCE, Ledger staff writer | Sep 04, 2013

Iowa school elections are Tuesday, regular school board elections are held every odd-numbered year and school board terms are for four years.

Pekin Community School District has three of its seven-member board positions on the ballot. Two board incumbents, Lynn Winn and Mark Wittrock are re-running. Incumbent David Hollingsworth is stepping down from serving on the Pekin school board.

Four candidates have joined the race for the three seats: Dustin Coleman, Jared Greiner, Heidi Baker and Mike Telfer.

Polling sites are open from noon until 9 p.m. Tuesday for Pekin elections.

Residents of the Pekin Community School District have the following election sites:

• Hedrick City Hall — for residents in Hedrick city limits and Benton, Competine, Dahlonega, Highland and Pleasant townships.

• Ollie Community Center — for residents in the towns of Packwood, Ollie and Martinsburg; and Locust Grove, Polk, Jackson, East Lancaster and Steady Run townships.

• Richland City Hall — for residents in Richland city limits and Black Hawk, Clay, Clear Creek and Richland townships.

The four continuing Pekin Community School District board of education members are Jennifer Coleman, Steve Copeland, Mike Davis and Greg Millikin, whose terms expire in 2015.


Van Buren Schools

The Van Buren Community School District has five school board positions out of seven up for election this year and two ballot measures for voters to decide.

Proposition A is asking to continue the physical plant and equipment property levy, not to exceed 67 cents per $1,000 of assessed valuation of taxable property within the school district, beginning with the levy for collection in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2015, for 10 years. PEPL is a school tax used toward making facility improvements in districts. The funds can be used for repairs, energy efficiency, technology, bus maintenance and any way to improve physical facilities.

PEPL funds cannot be used for teacher salaries, curriculum, food or other expenses not related to the physical plant of the district.

Voters choose yes or no on the ballot for Proposition A and Proposition B.

Proposition B is asking voters to allow the school board the authority to use PEPL funds, the one-cent sales tax, the services and use tax for schools, for a list of purposes outlined on the ballot, mostly to improve facilities.

Proposition B is asking voters to approve the adoption of a new revenue purpose statement to replace the district’s current statement.

Van Buren school district elects five board members by district and two members at-large.

In District 1, one school board seat is available. The candidates on the ballot are incumbent Terry Jester and challenger Richard Plowman.

In District 2, one seat is available and Cindy Lowe is on the ballot.

District 3 also has one seat available and one candidate on the ballot, incumbent Bob Steingreaber.

District 5 has one seat available with a contest between incumbent Kirt Horn and challenger Andrew Lydolph. The winner in District 5 will have to run again in two years, in 2015, according to Van Buren County Auditor Jon Finney. District 5 is on the 2013 ballot because of redistricting that placed two incumbents in the same district.

One at-large position is available with a contest between incumbent Sheila Parsons and challenger Tim Roush.

One Van Buren school board member, Jean McIntosh, is leaving the board.

Two board members, Karen McEntee, elected at-large and Stan Whitten representing District 4, continue on the school board until the 2015 election.

Polling sites in Van Buren Community School District are open from noon to 8 p.m. Tuesday. Election sites are:

• Birmingham Lions Center — for residents of Birmingham city limits and Lick Creek and Union townships.

• Township Hall in Cantril — for residents in Cantril city limits and Des Moines Township.

• Douds Community Center — for residents of Chequest and Village townships.

• Keosauqua Senior Citizens Center — for residents in Keosauqua city limits, Van Buren, Henry and Vernon townships (which includes the former city of Mount Sterling.)

• Milton American Legion Center — for residents in Milton city limits, Jackson Township and all voters in Davis County that are part of the Van Buren school district.

• Stockport American Legion Center — for residents in Stockport city limits and Washington, Cedar and Harrisburg townships.


Cardinal schools

Cardinal Community School District Board of Directors has five members, and two seats expire this year, those held by Mike Kayser and Todd Hart. Both are running for re-election unopposed.

Cardinal school board members whose terms expire in 2015 are Fred Thomas, Roger Davis and Carol Streeby.

Polls are open noon to 8 p.m. Tuesday in Wapello County. Election sites are:

• Eldon Library Hall — for residents in Eldon city limits and Keokuk and Washington townships in Wapello County; and Village Townships (including Selma) in Van Buren County; and Salt Creek Township in Davis County.

• Agency Community Building — for residents of Agency city limits and Dahlonega and Agency townships.

• Batavia Senior Citizens Center — for residents in Batavia city limits and Locust Grove, Des Moines and part of Polk townships in Jefferson County; and Pleasant Township in Wapello County.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.