Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 17, 2017

Art association exhibit winners to be announced Friday

Jan 02, 2014

Four Outstanding Art cash awards will be presented to winning artists in the Fairfield Art Association’s 12 X 12 Canvas Membership Exhibit at 7 p.m. Friday in the Fairfield Arts & Convention Center’s Main Gallery.

Close to 50 members of the Fairfield Art Association are participating in the membership exhibit at the convention center.

The show was judged by Mount Pleasant artist, art professor and well-known printmaker Ann Klingensmith.

“What a wonderful show,” Klingensmith said. “I am glad that the ranking of first, second ... was not done. Yet even to choose four pieces was difficult.”

Artists participating in this year’s membership show include: John Preston, Reny Parker, Diane Finwick, Holly Moore, Suzan Kessel, Debbie Finney, Janet Peck, Irene Murphy, Cynthia Ballou, Paulette Buckingham, Laura Weinberg, Gin Lammert, Mark Shafer, Kathleen Tachet, Phil Hirschler, Elaine Duncan, Victoria Gautherat, Terri Drobny, Ann Porter, Care Connet, David Kraemer, Kathleen Amelien, Randall McVey, Pamela Kohl, Sasha Luse, Kemlyn Tan Bappe, Dietrich Bonhoeffer Bappe, Eileen Hawthorne, Werner Elmker, Anne Shook, Kella J. Tschopp, Karen Harris, Barbara Grimmer, Cathyrn Layer, Doneta Moore, Carroll Mikalek, Gabriel Dieter, Mathew Dieter, Elizabeth Bell, Steve Tiffany, Bonnie Jaye Hendricks, Barbara Rainbow, Dori Lewman, Andrew Kishner, Diane Dallner and Catherine Aalto.

Works were created in oil pastel, photography, digital art, watercolor, acrylic, oil, collage and mixed media.

The 12 X 12 Canvas Membership Exhibit will remain on display through February. All works are for sale, and proceeds support both the artist and the Fairfield Art Association.

The public is able to vote for a People’s Choice Award until Jan. 10 in the Main Gallery. The favorite piece will win the artist two tickets to the Tracy Lawrence show scheduled Jan. 18 at the convention center’s Stephen Sondheim Center for the Performing Arts.

Winners of the People’s Choice Award and the juried Outstanding Art cash awards will be posted online at www.fairfieldartassociation.org/ and in the gallery.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.