Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 21, 2017

Artists’ work advancing to Iowa Artist state competition

Mar 18, 2013
PHOTO SUBMITTED Iowa Artists Region XII show blue-ribbon winners advancing to state are, from left, Donna Guy, Pamela Lander, Ann Koch, JoAnne Worley, Eileen Hawthorne, Laura Weinberg, Christopher Scamehorn and Carol Gunn. Not pictured is Brett Hendericks.

The Fairfield Art Association has announced the winners of the Iowa Artists Region XII show held March 9 at the Fairfield Arts & Convention Center.

The display of work by all participants continues through Saturday in the convention center’s Main Gallery. The display featured 87 artworks by 31 artists.

First-place winners advancing to state competition May 4 in Fort Dodge include: Donna Guy - watercolor, Eileen Hawthorne - pastel, Brett Hendericks - acrylic painting, Ann Koch - pastel, Pamela Lander - acrylic painting, Christopher Scamehorn - ceramic, Laura Weinberg - mixed media, Carol Gunn - painting and JoAnne Worley- watercolor.

Second place was awarded to Kathleen Amelien, Jennifer Blair, Eileen Hawthorne, Brett Hendericks, Bonnie Jaye, Pamela Lander, Margaret Schwind (2), and Carol Gunn.

Third pace ribbons went to Cindy Kaynor Ballou, Debbie Finney, Jemima Hawk (2), Eileen Hawthorne, Bonnie Jaye, Nancy Lee Salaberrios, Carol Gunn and Ann Porter.

Six honorable mentions were given to B.J. Grimmer (2), Ann Koch, Deborah Pogel, Nancy Lee Salaberrios and Ann Flodihn Shook.

Artist and Indian Hills Community College instructor Mark McWhorter served as judge and critiqued the individual artworks for the artists.

Iowa Artists is a statewide organization founded in 1970 as a nonprofit educational art group by Jack Olds with the Iowa Arts Council. Artists age 18 and above are eligible to enter up to three original artworks.

More information about Iowa Artists can be found at www.iowaartists.us.

Area XII is made up of Jefferson, Van Buren, Lee, Henry, Louisa, Muscatine, Washington and Des Moines counties.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.