Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 21, 2018

Batavia only town with contested races

Mayor Malloy will seek re-election, Revolinski steps down after 20 years
By Andy Hallman | Oct 03, 2017

The 2017 muncipal elections are little more than a month away, but the candidates aren’t losing any sleep over it.

Almost none of the towns in Jefferson County have contested races. The only exception is Batavia, where there are more candidates than open seats.



Chris E. Davison is running unopposed for mayor. Four candidates are vying for two empty seats, and they are Arlene Davison, Dean E. Keasling II, David Speas and Lynda Ann Yochum. Two more are running to fill a vacancy, and they are Benton Cloke and Kimberly Davison.



After previously announcing his desire to step down at the end of his term, Fairfield Mayor Ed Malloy has decided to seek re-election.

“Two years ago, I felt I had accomplished a lot of the goals I set, so I wanted to open the position to others,” he said. “I hoped a race for the seat would develop, but it didn’t. I began to think more about how we still have a lot of important projects, and that made it an easy decision to [seek re-election].

Malloy said his decision was based partly on the city lacking a city administrator and that soon it will lose its longtime city clerk, Joy Messer, to retirement.

“Having solid continuity within city hall and within local government is important,” he said.

Malloy was first elected mayor in 2001 after previously serving on the city council. This will mark his ninth run. He has been opposed three times.

Sitting councilors Douglas Flournoy and Michael Halley are running unopposed for re-election to their at-large seat and 4th Ward seat, respectively.

The 2nd Ward incumbent John Revolinski will not seek re-election. Paul Gandy was the only person to file papers to replace him, so he will run unopposed.

Revolinski is completing 20 years on the council. He said it’s been a great honor to serve the city and to build bridges between different sectors of the community, but also felt it was time to step aside and let someone else take over.

“The city has changed in many ways in the past 20 years, but some things haven’t changed,” he said. “There is still the same feeling of responsibility to take care of the place and make sure things are progressing.”

Revolinski said being on the council never felt like a burden because he had always worked with competent mayors, city administrators and fellow councilors.

“Our council has been really wonderful this whole time, full of people who care about the community, who are intelligent and open-minded,” he said. “I’ll miss them a lot.”



While Batavia has more candidates than open seats, Libertyville has the opposite problem of having more seats than candidates. Voters in that town will elect a mayor, two at-large seats on the council and two more seats to fill vacancies. Incumbent mayor Rodney A. Nelson is seeking re-election unopposed, as is incumbent councilor Tom Atwood.

The top write-in candidates will fill the other three spots on the council.



All other towns not mentioned have the same number of candidates as open seats, meaning there are no contested races. In Lockridge, Paul Corbin is running for mayor. Incumbent councilors Danny Nelson and Richard Richardson seek at-large seats, as does newcomer Michael D. Renken.


Maharishi Vedic City

Robert G. Wynne seeks re-election as mayor of Maharishi Vedic City. Five incumbent councilors have all chosen to seek re-election, and they are Rogers Badgett, Steven R. Boss, Tim Fitz-Randolph, Robert Chris Johnson and Maureen M. Wynne.



Incumbent Packwood Mayor David Dickey seeks re-election, as do incumbent councilors Raymond L. Chambers and Virgil L. Chandler.


Pleasant Plain

The town’s incumbent mayor, Richard L. Pohren, seeks another term. Incumbent councilors Carl K. Chandler, Larry D. Hook and Donald J. Pohren seek re-election. Newcomer Paul G. Kessel also hopes for a spot on the council.


Voting information

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day, Nov. 7, but only for Fairfield. Polls in all other towns will be open from noon to 8 p.m.

The pre-registration deadline is 5 p.m. on Oct. 27. The deadline to request an absentee ballot is at 5 p.m. Nov. 3, and the Jefferson County Auditor’s Office encourages the public to do so as soon as possible.

The last day for Fairfield residents to vote by absentee ballot is Nov. 6. The ballot must be postmarked no later than that day, and must be received by the auditor’s office no later than Nov. 9. All other towns have until 11 a.m. on Nov. 7, and those ballots must be received no later than Nov. 13.

Jefferson County Elections Clerks Abbie DeKleine explained that the deadline for Fairfield’s absentee ballots is earlier than the other towns to accommodate runoff elections, which the other towns don’t have.

A runoff election would be held in early December if necessary.






Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.