Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Jul 17, 2018

Broz, Plum, Scott, Welsh elected to school board

By Nicole Major, Ledger staff writer | Sep 13, 2017
Photo by: Andy Hallman/Ledger photo The line to vote at the Jefferson County Courthouse wound throughout the atrium and even spilled outside, a testament to the public’s interest in Tuesday’s school board election.

Local voters flexed the strong arm of democracy by standing in long lines Tuesday, after sending in almost equal amounts of absentee ballots during the Fairfield Community School District Board of Director’s election.

Four new school board members were elected to the board, and they are Frank Broz, Debi Plum, Kelly Scott and Christi Welsh.

Broz, Plum and Scott will serve four-year terms, while Welsh will finish out the two years left on former board member Jeremy Miller’s term.

“I am so grateful for everyone who came out to vote; I was particularly impressed with everyone who came early, stayed out late, and stood in long lines,” Broz said, adding that the special election on Oct. 17 would offer another chance for the community to have its “voice heard.”

“I am honored to have the opportunity to volunteer for the district that has done so much for me over the years,” he said. “This school district is stronger because so many of us actively participated. To all of you who took time out of your week to inform yourself on this election and who took time to vote, please keep participating. Contact me or the rest of the board with comments, concerns, and questions. There will be many chances to make improvements to the district, and I look forward to working with Debi Plum, Kelly Scott, Christi Welsh, Warren Schaefer, Paul Miller, and Ryan Kurka. I hope the community continues to talk to each other about school issues, and support our students, teachers, and administrators whenever possible. Thank you.”

Plum, a retired educator from Arizona who recently moved to the community said she’s looking forward to being a board member.

“It was wonderful to see such a strong turnout for this election,” Plum said. “I am proud to live in a community that cares about their schools and children so much. Thanks to all who voted for us and I look forward to working together with all the board members, both new and old. We will be a fantastic team.”

Broz, Plum and Welsh each garnered more than 1,100 votes.

“Thank you to everyone who chose to vote in this record breaking election,” Welsh said. “I’m honored to have been chosen, and look forward to working with my fellow board members. Also congratulations to Debi Plum, Frank Broz and Kelly Scott.”

Scott, who teaches full time at Ottumwa High School, said he’s ready to serve during the next four years.

“I feel very happy that I won and the fact that I had to stand in line to vote last night really showed me the interest of the community, and I was very happy to see that,” Scott said. “I’m totally looking forward to serving and I just really want to do a really great job.”

The unofficial election results from the Jefferson County Auditor’s Office are as follows:


1) Frank Broz 1,171

2) Debi Plum 1,126

3) Kelly Scott 666

4) Jennifer Anderson 593

5) Madonna Smithburg 535

6) Barry Waugh 502

7) James Lee Elliott 439

8) Ben Picard 422

9) Kevin Curran 210

10) Cathy Giberson 150

11) Christopher P. Meador 68*

12) John McKerley 32*

13) Michael Lane 24*

Meador, McKerley and Lane withdrew from the race after the ballot was printed.


The vote totals in the race to finish the final two years of a four-year term are:

1) Christi Welsh 1,172

2) Virgil G. Symmonds 840

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.