Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

Cast announced for FHS’s ‘The Real Inspector Hound’

Apr 05, 2013

The Broadway Players have returned to its theatre archives to do a revival of Tom Stoppard’s “The Real Inspector Hound.”

It was first staged in at FHS in the fall of 1987.

“The Real Inspector Hound” follows two theatre critics named Moon and Birdboot who are watching a ludicrous setup of a country house murder mystery, in the style of a whodunit. By chance, they become involved in the action causing a series of events that parallel the play they are watching.

The play was written between 1961 and 1962, drawing on Stoppard’s experiences as Bristol theatre critic. It is a parody of the stereotypical parlor mystery in the style of Agatha Christie’s “The Mousetrap,” as well as of the critics watching the play, with their personal desires and obsessions interwoven into their bombastic and pompous reviews.

“The Real Inspector Hound,” much like Stoppard’s earlier play “Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead,” examines the ideas of fate and free will, as well as exploring the themes of the “play within a play.”

The 2013 cast includes: Makena Dettman as Simon Gascoyne, Jaclyn Flinspach as Mrs Drudge, Paige Holderbaum as Moon, Coren Hucke as Higgs, Jacob Kessel as Major Magnus, Shea Malloy as Cynthia Muldoon, Lalita Martin as Felicity Cunnigham, Jordan Whitney as Inspector Hound and TJ Wood as Birdboot. Lee Muntz is the voice of the BBC.

Production assistants include Rachel Biggs, Loreena Hucke and Clara Kelly.

The set constuctors and designers include Dakota Anderson, Brandon Francisco, Wava Jarr, Kiera Nelson, Seth Simmons, Jessie Warner and Krystal Weirup.

The technical crew includes Drew Grunwald, Laura Jackson, Jocelyn Neff and Brendan Schmitt under the direction of John Grunwald.

Scott Slechta is the director.

The 1987 cast and crew includes: Jason Bradley as Simon Gascoyne, Laurie Miller and Kirk Waston as Mr. and Mrs Drudge, Amy Meyer as Moon, Bill Brooks as Higgs, Jeff Gillaspie as Major Magnus, Mindy Meinen as Cynthia Muldoon, Laurie Neff as Felicity Cunnigham, Shannon Prickett as Inspector Hound and Tom Brouwer as Birdboot. John McGlothlen was the BBC voice.

Production assistant was Crystal Benton. The set constuctors and designers included Galen Thomson, Mark Williams, Mike Andre, Gina Beye, Steve Higdon, Tim Horras, Cary Justman, Valerie Kharitonoff, Jim Nelson, Lori Palm, Jason Schmidt, Marlo Schmidt, JJ Schrum, James Tedrow, Don Williams and Jason Wonderlich. Other crew members included John Wilson, Beth Brouwer, Mandi Buch, Heather Hoadley, Jennifer Main, Michelle Melcher, Christina Schaub, Carmen Bower, Lori Johnson, Valerie Kharitonff, Marielle Lahti, Lori Lollar, Denise Miller, Joelene Nelson, Marci Phillips and Jeri Van Amerongen. The technical crew included Darian Rogers, Brian Widmer, Jeremy Loving, Paul Taylor and Chris Wilkinson. Scott Slechta was the director.

In experimenting with different dramatic genres, Slechta said, “Stoppard’s play is an example of absurdism as well as farce, parody, and satire.”

The Broadway Players of FHS will present “The Real Inspector Hound at 7:30 p.m. April 19-20 adn 2 p.m. April 21 in the FHS Auditorium.

Tickets will be on sale 30 minutes before curtain.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.