Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 20, 2017

Collector Cars Unlimited lists winners from annual car show

Oct 25, 2012

Collectors Cars Unlimited has listed the winners in its 30th annual car show Sept. 16 on the Fairfield square.

Convertibles — Class awards: Robert Dorrell, Marceline, Mo., 1966 Chevy Chevelle; and John and Wendy Ikend, Elvaston, Ill., 1957 Chevy Bel Aire. First place: Maynard Weiss, Victor, 1957 Ford Fairlane 500.

Classic Closed Stock 1900-1949 — Class awards: Bob Trasser, Oskaloosa, 1949 Chevy Deluxe; and Jim Barnett, Oskaloosa, 1940 Ford Super Delux. First place: Robert Owings, Memphis, Mo., 1939 Ford Pick-up.

Classic Closed Stock 1950-1959 — Class awards: Jim and Connie Carlson, Ottumwa, 1953 Mercury Monterey; Loren and De Knebel Riverside, 1956 Mercury Monterey; and Harry Nicholson, Ottumwa, 1956 Continental Mark II. First place: Rick Stauffer, Mount Pleasant, 1957 Chevy Nomad.

Classic Closed Stock 1960-1969 — Class awards: Ken Schlarbaum Pulaski, 19667 Ford Fairlane; and Kermit Smith, Ottumwa, 1963 Mercury Monterey. First place: Merle Haney, Fairfield, 1968 Bonneville.

Classic Closed Stock 1970-1979 — Class awards: Larry Rossem, Oskaloosa, 1976 Oldsmobile Cutlass; and Carl Moore, Ottumwa, 1977 Ford Thunderbird. First place: John Manush, Burlington, 1971 Plymouth Duster.

Classic Closed Stock 1980-Present — Class awards: Harry and Linda Riddler, Wellman, 1984 Chevy Monte Carlo; Jim Peterson, Washington, 1983 Avanti Coupe; and Mike Shelangoski, Mount Pleasant, 1980 Pontiac Trans Am. First place: Randy Ahlers, Ottumwa, 1983 Oldmobile Cutlass.

Pick-up Stock — Class awards: Terry Kitzman, Milton, 1949 Chevy 1 Ton; Ken Gookin, Story City, 1953 Ford F-100; and Wayne Monroe, Ottumwa, 1949 Ford F-1. First place: David Rodgers, University Park, 1949 Ford F-1.

Foreign — Class awards: Stanley Davis, Fairfield, 1991 Acura NSX; Linda Fine, Ottumwa, 1968 VW Bug; and Curt Hanson, Fairfield, 1960 VW Type II Single Cab. First place: Steve and Geri Lenoch, Coralville, 1956 Messerchmit KR-200.

Pick-up Modified — Class awards: David Hesseltine, Killen, Ala., 1969 Chevy Custom 10 pick-up; Patsy Dorrell, Marceline, Mo., 1946 Chevy pick-up; and Roy Charmis, Rose Hill, 1955 Chevy 3100. First place: Gale and Cathy Mantz, Ottumwa, 1956 Ford F-100

Mustang 1964 1/2 - 1973 — Class awards: Barbara Saffell, Ottumwa, 1969 Mustang Mach II; Joe and Kelly Conway, Kirksville, Mo., 1969 Mustang GT; and Myron Gookin, Fairfield, 1966 Ford Mustang. First place: James Johnson, Fairfield, 1968 Ford Shelby.

Mustang 1974 - Present — Class awards: Garrel Hird, Lockridge, 2003 Ford Mustang; and Sheryl McCain, Oskaloosa, 2006 Ford Mustang. First place: Gordon Brown Montrose, 2012 Ford Boss Mustang.

Corvette — Class awards: Maynard and Carolyn Edwards, Stockport, 1997 Chevy Corvette; Wendell Beall, Fairfield, 1989 Chevy Corvette; and Art Snider Corydon, 1982 Chevy Corvette. First place: Tim Krall, Solon, 1963 Chevy Corvette.

Factory Muscle Ford — Class award: Francis Frazier, Gorin, Mo., 1967 Mercury Cougar. First place: Warren Douglas, Ottumwa, 1970 Ford Torino GT.

Factory Muscle GM — Class awards: Mardy and Deb Randolph, Ottumwa, 1964 Chevy Impala; and Rex Jones, Ottumwa, 1980 Chevy Camaro Z-28. First place: Ken Lindmeir, Washington, 1966 Pontiac GTO.

Factory Muscle Other — Class awards: David Howell, Fairfield, 1976 Pontiac Trans Am; and Jim Johnson, Ottumwa, 1970 Dodge Charger R/T. First place: Dan Qualters, Fairfield, 1969 Pontiac GTO Judge.

Street Rod — Class awards: John Ryken, New Sharon, 1939 Chrysler Royale; Ron Figgins, Riverside, 1933 Willys 77 Coupe; and Don Mueller, West Burlington, 937 Ford 4-door. First place: Ken Petrone, Wellman, 1937 Ford Coupe.

Street Machine 1949-1964 — Class awards: Gary and Janet Sanger, Ankeny, 1957 Chevy Bel Aire; Marty Hull, Blakesburg, 1954 Chevy Sedan; and Carmen Rose, Macomb, Ill., 1957 Chevy Bel Aire. First place: Kenny Ball, Belair, Mo., 1957 Chevy Bel Aire.

Street Machine 1965-1969 — Class awards: Bob Keller, Fairfield, 1966 Chevy Nova; Ron Cadwell, Oskaloosa, 1968 Mercury Cougar XR7; and Nick Simmons, Victor, 1969 Chevy Camaro. First place: Mike Cassey, Kirksville, Mo., 1969 Chevy Chevelle.

Street Machine 1970-Present — Class awards: Jean and Brian Burroughs, Libertyville, 1971 Pontiac Firebird; and Ron Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, 1971 Dodge Demon. First place: David Jones, Brookfield, Mo., 1972 Chevy Nova.

Mini-Truck — Class awards: Ron Reif, Birmingham, 1986 Chevy S-10 Blazer; and Mark Muli, Oskaloosa, 1993 Ford Festiva Pick-up. First place: Dave Hitch, Cedar Rapids, 1981 Chevy El Camino.

Low Rider — Class award: Judy Richards, Ottumwa, 1959 Chevy Biscayne. First place: Bib Hill, Burlington, 1954 Mercury Sun Valley.

Motorcycle Foreign Stock — Class awards: Kevin Hestin Jr., Fairfield, 2008 Yamaha YZF R6; and Cliff Nichols, Fairfield, 1968 Triumph Trophy. First place: Jeff Wetherell, Stockport, 1967 Triumph Daytona.

Motorcycle Custom Modified — First place: Jeff Wetherell, Stockport, 1973 Triumph Bonneville.

Special Interest — Class awards: Bob Pohren, Keosauqa, 1960 Cushman Truckster; Ted Pacha, Iowa City, 1981 DMC Delorean; and David Marnholtz, Agency, 1951 Sudebaker Pick-up. First place: Jim Redmann, Lockridge, 1923 Ford “T” Bucket.

Visibly Unfinished — Class awards: Rich Metcalf, Batavia, 1937 Chevy Business Coupe; and Ron Reif, Birmingham, 1966 Ford Mustang Coupe. First place: Robert Diveley, Ottumwa, 1938 Ford Deluxe.

Rat Rod — Class awards: Jeremy Clubb, Douds, 1952 Chevy Pick-up; and Mike Penrod, Donnellson, 1947 International. First place: Sharon Petrone, Wellman, 1929 Ford A-Roadster/Pickup.

Fairfield Fire Department Choice — Kenny Ball, Belair, 1957 Chevy Bel Aire.

Fairfield Police Department Choice – Bill’s Body Shop Richland, 1969 Dodge Charger.

KTVO’s Choice — Steve and Geri Lenoch, Coralville, 1956 Messerschmit KR-200.

The Fairfield Ledger Choice — Kenny Gauley, Montezuma, 1966 Ford Mustang.

Jefferson County Sherrif’s Office Choice ­— Ron Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, 1971 Dodge Demon.

Fairfield Mayor Choice — Roy Charmis, Rose Hill, 1955 Chevy 3100.

Kenny Tillis Memorial Club’s Choice — Ru Kufas, Keokuk, 1955 Chevy.

Best Of Show Car — Don Mueller, West Burlington, 1937 Ford 4-Door.

Best of Show Truck — Gale and Cathy Mantz, Ottumwa, 1956 Ford F-100.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.