Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Aug 14, 2018

Committee votes for 1 percent bump to schools

By Phil Miller | Feb 08, 2018
Source: PHOTO COURTESY OF PHIL MILLER Representative Phil Miller joined Terry Baker and Rustin Lippincott of the Fairfield Convention & Visitors Bureau at the “This is Iowa” Iowa Tourism Night at the Iowa State Fairgrounds.

Hi everyone back in House District 82!

I have just finished my fourth week in Des Moines. The amount of work to be done increases and the time to get it done is decreasing, but I want you to know I am working very hard for all.

The House Education Committee voted Wednesday night (Jan. 31) to approve a 1 percent increase for supplemental school aid (SSA). State tax revenues are projected to be 4 percent above 2018 for the fiscal year 2019.

Fiscal year 2019 starts July 1, 2018. Most school districts that I represent have flat to declining certified enrollments. The House Majority is not making public education a priority with a 1 percent increase in support. If these plans are followed through with, Iowa will have fewer teachers, fewer support staff, and larger classes. I voted no. I know we could put more state money towards public education instead of giving money to large corporations for their growth. Our priorities are upside down.

I am also on the committee for education appropriation. This covers the regent universities, the community colleges and the school for the blind. The de-appropriation that is currently being discussed in the Senate will trim up to $55 million from the 2018 budget that ends in June.

The recommendation is that $30 million in cuts will come from the state universities and our community colleges. This doesn’t make sense since they train our future workforce. I am against these cuts.

It was great seeing many of you this last week make the trip to Des Moines. Stay in touch.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to serve you in the Iowa House. I look forward to hearing from you.


— Phil Miller serves District 82 in the Iowa House of Representatives. The district includes all of Davis and Van Buren counties, and most of Jefferson County.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.