Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 24, 2017

Education foundation awards grants

May 02, 2014

The Education Foundation of Fairfield Public Schools has awarded grants totaling $16,235 to 21 district teachers.

The board of directors of the education foundation met April 2 to award grants to teachers and staff who applied to purchase items for their classrooms.

Because teachers are using technology to present materials and skills to entire classes and are incorporating strategies allowing students to engage with technology on their own, some of the grant money will fund technology needs. The teachers will be using the money to purchase graphic pens and tablets for student use in high school art, electronic visual document cameras for high school Spanish, computers for the high school library, iPad Airs for special education, Kindles for middle school English, and headphones for elementary computer labs.

The board continued its support of the district preschool with handwriting books, alphabet charts and tablets.

Items for elementary classrooms included phonics flip chart, word recognition games, syllable centers, Soft Touch word-building dice, leveled reader classroom libraries and math games.

The middle school special education classroom will have new sensory balls, a trampoline, therapy swing and a tent, while the high school industrial technology received a new mechanics tool set.

The Education Foundation of Fairfield Public Schools funds grant requests from district teachers in October and April each year.

The board seeks to promote excellence in education through the use of private revenues. The foundation promotes the use of current technologies to engage students and enhance their learning and supports teachers in their efforts to provide innovative programming for students.

Information about the foundation board, past grants and making tax deductible contributions is available on the district’s website at www.fairfieldeducationfoundation.org or by contacting any board member.

Current foundation board members are: Chad Thompson, president; Bev Nelson, secretary; Beth Greiner-Ward, treasurer; Ben Huff, Steve Lamb, Terri Kness, Dena Morrissey, Detra Dettmann, Doug Kuehl, Glenn Perkins and Gary Henry. Ex-officio members are: Art Sathoff, superintendent; Kate Van Pelt, school board representative; Amber Earnest, teacher representative; Craig Foss, legal counsel; and Kara Greiner, student representative.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.