Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 20, 2017

Farm Bureau Women; Retired School Personnel; Arc Board of Directors

Jan 30, 2013


The Jefferson County Farm Bureau Women will meet at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday at Pizza Ranch.

Shirley Stanley will be hostess and have the program.

The roll call response will be about buildings, land, landmarks and transportation of India.

All interested women are invited to attend.




The Jefferson County Retired School Personnel met Jan. 23 for a luncheon, with 25 members and two guests present.

New members Ralph and Linda Messerli were welcomed.

Guest speaker Ron Rominger gave a program on  “Identity Theft.”

The meeting was conducted by Co-President Don Kremer.

The secretary report was given by Jeanne Erickson, and the treasurery report by Dwain Dooley. Both reports were approved as  read.

Bettye Small’s 90th birthday was celebrated with “Happy Birthday” played by Becky Peters on the piano.  The next meeting will be Feb. 22 at the McElhinny House. Hostesses will be Marilyn Fenton, Isabelle Johnson and Becky Peters. The program will be given by the foreign exchange student at Fairfield High School.




The Board of Directors of The Arc of Jefferson & Nearby Counties recently held its first 2013 meeting at First United Methodist Church in Fairfield.

Guests were Pat Whitten, Jeanine Simmons and  Billy Mathis, Special Olympics coach.

Mathis took students to Winter Olympics at Dubuque earlier this month, and reported on awards received. Expenses incurred at the event were covered by The Arc, as were expenses involved with bowling practices, bowling competition and upcoming basketball events. Southeast Iowa Special Olympics basketball skills competition will be Saturday at Burlington High School. State Midwinter Tournament — cheerleading, powerlifting, gymnastics, team basketball, basketball skills — will be March 15-16 in Iowa City. Southeast Iowa Spring Games will be April 13 at William Penn University in Oskaloosa, and USA Games will be June 14-21, 2014, in New Jersey.

Brian Simmons took eight to Southeast Iowa Special Olympics bowling competition in Ottumwa, four of whom advanced to the State competition held in Cedar Rapids in November. A November soup supper was held at the VFW Hall to help raise funds for adults involved in Special Olympics, and Hy-Vee sponsored a fundraiser which raised around $140 to help with adult Special Olympics expenses.

Thank-you’s were read from Wendy McKune for flowers and from Camp Courageous for a donation made in memory of Norma Robinson. A donation was made to the Methodist church for the use of its community room for Arc meetings. A donation was received from James Kaska to be used for campership fees.

Darlene Vorhies sent word a grant application has been submitted to the William M. & Donna J. Hoaglin Foundation for campership assistance in Van Buren County. Vorhies also shared Frank Workman, father of former Special Olympians, and Tim McQuary’s mother, have passed away; cards were sent to Tim McQuary and Mike Workman from The Arc.

The following were appointed to the Nominating Committee: Darlene Vorhies, Jack Whitten and Pat Whitten.

Brian Simmons, assisted by Billy Mathis, Codie Amason, Janet Morris and Toni Scott, arranged for The Arc to sponsor three dances at Fairfield Middle School to raise funds on Feb. 15, March 20 and May 10; 10-12 adults will be needed to chaperone.

Several options were discussed to alleviate concerns of over-spending on camperships, noting the cost per camper has gone up nearly every year. With the Super Skate no longer an option because the Sunset Roller Rink has closed, reduction of activities funded by The Arc must be considered. Kathy Henry, Mary Sue Hoaglin, Janet Morris and Toni Scott will work on reduction of camperships and other options to reduce spending.

Jill Boileau, Mary Coffin, Kathy Henry, Toni Scott and Brian Simmons will work on plans for celebrating The Arc’s 40th anniversary this year.

Frank Stever resigned from the local Arc Board, since he and Eleanor have relocated to Burlington. Mary Coffin resigned from her position on The Arc of Iowa Board of Directors and has learned Casey Westhoff has resigned as executive director of The Arc of Iowa, thus a new executive director is being sought.

Kathy Henry, Mary Sue Hoaglin and Brian Simmons will audit The Arc books early in February. Kathy Henry and Mary Sue Hoaglin will prepare letters for schools, Area Education Agencies and media regarding the availability of The Arc scholarships.

The next meeting will be March 28.

For more information about the meeting or The Arc, call Mary Coffin at 919-7442.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.