Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 22, 2017

FHS Class of 1962

Jul 17, 2012
Courtesy of: MORT GAINES PHOTO Members of the Fairfield High School graduating class of 1962 gathered for a photo during their 50th-year reunion.

FHS CLASS of 1962

“Celebrate Good Times” was the theme for the Fairfield High School class of 1962 when it met for its two-day 50th-year reunion June 22-23.

On commencement day, 165 seniors graduated making it the largest class in the history of the high school at that time. The class also was noted for having three juniors on the starting basketball team which went to the state tournament in 1961.

Eighty-three classmates, along with their guests totaling nearly 130 people, participated in the various reunion events. Golf at the Fairfield Golf & Country Club, a luncheon at Revelations, a Carnegie Historical Museum tour and an evening welcoming party with classes from 1959-1965 invited were held June 22. June 23, former FHS staff members Gwen Wells and Anna Brenneman greeted the class at its breakfast and tours of the high school. Two yellow school bus rides were conducted by Dick Reed, with Ken Norton, around Fairfield 50 years after graduation for classmates and their guests. Golf was also a morning activity at Walton Club.

The reunion continued with a 1950s and 1960s classic car show before a social hour and dinner at Walton Club June 23. Throughout the evening, a historical pictorial video prepared by Jim Watson was on view. A special commemorative T-shirt was designed as a memento of the golden reunion. A class photo was taken by Mort Gaines, and class booklets containing entries about all class members were distributed.

Tom Best offered the invocation, and Jim Watson, 1961-62 student body president, was the master of ceremonies at the program after the dinner. A vocal music interlude was led by Dana White with Donna Bower Schmidt on the piano accompanying Betty Blough Downey, Mary Carol Shafer Fish, Loretta Crile Diers, Joyce Harper, Roger Johnson and Gene Rizor.

A memorial tribute with prayer was given by Tom Best for the 23 classmates now deceased: Paul Daggett, Ray Hutton, Lana Meyers Wilson, Liz Mrogenski Martin, Richard Pratt, Ed Rubey, Norman Hendricks, Dick Lyons (class vice president), Larry Carpenter, Patricia Smith Jones, Janet McIntire Dickey (class secretary), Paul Babcock, Blake Scovel, Patty Parker Leppert, Nancy Garrison Thomas, Judy Martin Uitermarkt, Gary Supalla, Linda Willey St. Clair, John McCabe, Bob Droz, Sheryl Dimmitt Gann, Larry Maxwell, and James Metcalf.

Ron Langner, class president, and Dick Barton, class treasurer, were recognized. Mary Carol Shafer Fish announced the 2012 class gift of $1,200 would be given to the FHS Wall of Honor with funds raised from contributions and a drawing. Donations of $1,755 also were received for University of Iowa’s cancer research center in honor of deceased classmates and cancer survivors. Also, $100 will go to the Education Foundation of the Fairfield Public Schools.

Roy Anderson was commended for being the first to send in his reservation. Dick Boxell, Larry Keller, Ed McCracken, Nick Pauly, Jim Samuelson and JoAnn Short Martin attended their first reunion. Married high school sweethearts in attendance were Bob and Jane Krumboltz Carmichael, Charles and Betty Blough Downey, Jim and Kathryn Gilchrist Hootman and David and Juanita Deutsch Jeffrey. Those who had served in various branches of the military were asked to stand and be recognized by retired Army Col. Ron Koontz. Students and graduates of the hometown’s former Parsons College were honored as well. Afterward, each classmate gave a personal history and a memory from the 1958-62 school days.

The evening closed with the classmates singing the “Fairfield High School Song” led by former cheerleaders.

Several classmates traveled great distances for the reunion from both the east and west coast as well southwestern states. Those coming from out of state included Mary Kay Bartholow Bonnett, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.; Richard Barton, Rapid City, S.D.; Lynda Bates Alexander, Bloomington, Minn.; Robert Beauchamp, Westfield, Ind.; Marlene Beltramea Deutsch, Rochelle, Ill.; Betty Blough Downey, Wayzata, Minn.; William Bogner, Oak Park, Ill.; Donna Bower Schmidt, Bowling Green, Ohio; Richard Boxell, Tucson, Ariz.; Tom Brobston, Gerlaw, Ill.; Carl Brown, Phoenix, Ariz.; Robert Cooksey, Chesapeake, Va.; Julia Davitt Neff, Elgin, IL; Charles Downey, Wayzata, Minn.; Susan Ewart Wilson, Carrollton, Va.; William French, New Glarus, Wis.; Kathryn Gilchrist Hootman, Harrisburg, S.D.; Barry Harper, Menlo Park, Calf.; Charles Hawk, Greenfield, Ind.; Paul Hickenbottom, Granbury, Texas; James Hootman, Harrisburg, S.D.; Roger Johnson, Danville, Calif.; Larry Keller, St. Charles, Mo.; Charles Klett, Phoenix, Ariz.; Ed McCracken, Angel Fire, N.M.; Roxanne O’Grady Hirsch, Hudson, Colo.; Karen Ray Blackley, Fullerton, Calif.; Gene Rizor, Silver Spring, Md.; Donald Reed, Plano, Texas; James Reynolds, Lincoln, Ill.; Jim Russell, Center, Mo.; James Samuelson, Williamsburg,Va.; Mark Schanfeldt, Freeport, Ill.; Linda Sheckler Goldstone, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Steven Smith, Alexandria, Ind.; Dale Snider, Littlerock, Calif.; David Switzer, Brainerd, Minn.; James Watson, Schertz, Texas; Dana White, Darien, Ill.; David Williams, Casa Grande, Ariz.; and Nadine Wolfe Garbett, Geneseo, Ill.

Attending from out of town were Connie Altman Sparks, Newton; Roy Anderson, Brighton; Tom Best, Altoona; Belinda Brown Loomis, Bettendorf; Bob Carmichael, Shenandoah; Dennis Chalupa, Newton; Barbara Curtis Bates, Ottumwa; Juanita Deutsch Jeffrey, Cedar Rapids; Martin Dougherty, Birmingham, Darrell Egli, Columbus; Donald Fillinger, Lockridge, Tom Harwood, Danville; Jane Havener Kisling, Stockport, Rodney Henderson, Cedar Rapids, Jane Hill Watson, Ottumwa; Dixie Hogan Hoekman, Des Moines; Charles Horras, Ames; David Jeffrey, Cedar Rapids; Ron Koontz, Polk City; Jane Krumboltz Carmichael, Shenandoah; Ron Langner, Newton; Rosalie Mineart Kinney, Bloomfield, John Nelson, Donnellson; Nick Pauly, Ankeny; Linn Pistole Johnson, Mitchellville; Quentin Pruden, Altoona; Pat Shepherd Woodard, Ottumwa; and Lea Vorhies Bradley, Mount Pleasant.

Those from Fairfield included Randy Bates, Terry Bonnett, Loretta Crile Diers, Karen Garretson Hoyle, Fred Hickenbottom, Linda Hollander Lyons Peterson, Deanna Lucas Zillman, Harold Mosinski, Ken Norton, Judith Parsons Ward, Mary Carol Shafer Fish, JoAnn Short Martin, Ken Weaver and Carol Weidner Klepinger Parkin.

Class reunion committee members were Tom Best, Loretta Crile Diers, Dixie Hogan Hoekman, Chuck Horras, Ron Koontz, Ron Langner, Carol Weidner Parkin, Lee Schlief, Judith Parsons Ward and Jim Watson.

The 55th year anniversary reunion will be held in 2017.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.