Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 18, 2017

FMS musicians selected for honor bands

May 09, 2017
PHOTO SUBMITTED Twenty-eight Fairfield Middle School band students were selected for the Mt. Pleasant honor band. The students were, from left, front row: Erin Epperson, Solstice Hebert, Olivia Sandbothe, Mikael Anderson, Josh Cardis, Dumo Dube, Dillan Post; second row: Jace Hannes, Max Weaton, Makenzie Kraemer, Kiya Robertson, Brooke Miller, Grant Ward; third row, Spencer Hilger, Nick Kaska, Carter Thompson, Tess Paton, Danielle Breen, Mallory Lyons, Sophia Fritz, FMS band instructor Mary Andersen; fourth row: Holden Phelps, Zach Holcomb, Alex Camero, Lauren Kraemer, Claire Epperson, Amiritha Kumar, Clare Else, Sophie Miller.

In January, more than 500 junior high students from across southeast Iowa gather at Fairfield High School in hopes of attaining one of the 200 seats in the SEIBA honor band.

The students practice and memorize scales, and learn two etudes for a five-minute audition time to prove they are worthy, explained Mary Andersen, the Fairfield Middle School band instructor.

This year, four FMS students were chosen for that honor: Claire Epperson, eighth-grade clarinet; Sophie Miller, eighth-grade clarinet; Lauren Kraemer, eighth-grade alto saxophone; and Nicholas Kaska, seventh-grade tuba.

Also making it through the first cuts and having a second audition was Amiritha Kumar, eighth-grade flute.

The SEIBA junior high honor band was held at the newly constructed Voxman Music Building at the University of Iowa. The directors for the junior high concert bands were David Newport, retired director from Grinnell, and band composer Robert Sheldon, who composed a piece for one of the groups.

This past month, even more FMS band students had the opportunity to attend honor bands, continued Andersen.

For the SEIBA elementary honor band last month, seven of the FMS sixth-grade band students were selected via nomination, and performed at Washington High School, in its newly constructed auditorium space. The director was Steve King, elementary band director in the Linn Mar school district.

Right after spring break, 28 FMS band students were selected to attend the Mt. Pleasant honor band. Many of the FMS students were seated at the top of their sections, said Andersen. The directors were Ashley Smith, beginning band director for the North Scott school district, and Andy Owen, band director at Tipton High School.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.