Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 18, 2017

Holiday concert set at Indian Hills

Dec 06, 2012

OTTUMWA — The music of the holiday season will be celebrated as Indian Hills Community College’s Department of Performing and Visual Arts presents its annual Holiday Concert Dec. 13.

The public is invited to this free performance that will begin at 7:30 p.m. in St. John Auditorium on the Ottumwa campus.

The Indian Hills Staff Choir, Concert Choir and Chamber Singers, directed by Laura Wiebe; Bridge City Explosion, led by Diana Upton-Hill; and the Indian Hills Jazz Band, under the direction of David Sharp, will present an evening of seasonal music.

The Indian Hills Staff Choir will make its eighth appearance in this concert, performing “Carol of the Candle” by Stephen Paulus, “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” arranged by Richard Donohue and “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” arranged by John Rutter.

The Indian Hills Concert Choir will present “Do You Hear What I Hear” arranged by Henry Simeone, “St. Nicholas” by contemporary Irish composer Michael McGlynn, the Nigerian carol “Betelehemu” and “This Little Babe” by Benjamin Britten.

The Chamber Singers will perform “Good People All, This Christmastime” arranged by Eugene Butler and “Dormi, Dormi, O Bel Bambin,” an Italian carol arranged by Robert DeCormier.

The Bridge City Explosion will perform two holiday favorites: “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” and “(There’s No Place Like) Home for the Holidays.”

The Indian Hills Jazz Band will play arrangements by David Sharp of Claude Thornhill’s “Snowfall” featuring Indian Hills piano instructor Emily Wolf, the Carpenters’ “Merry Christmas, Darling” showcasing the vocal stylings of Diana Upton-Hill and a funk/swing version of Leroy Anderson’s “Sleigh Ride.”

And in what has become an annual tradition for the finale of the concert, all of the performing groups will combine to perform Irving Berlin’s classic “White Christmas” arranged and conducted for this concert by David Sharp.

Students involved in one or more of the groups include:

Agency: Sarah Bennett;

Eldon: Robert McLaughlin and Cassie Rupe;

Fairfield: Brittany Anderson, Tyler Breeding, Derek Fishel and Josh Patterson;

Hedrick: Jenna Strom;

Keosauqua: Kodi Wolf;

Milton: Jay Stookesberry; and

Packwood: Niccole Giberson.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.