Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 23, 2017

Indian Hills Community College

Feb 24, 2017


IHCC Academy

OTTUMWA — The Indian Hills Community College Academy accepted 10 new students at a special ceremony this month.

Started in 1985, the Academy honors arts and sciences and criminal justice students for their exceptional academic performance. Academy members are eligible to enroll in honors courses, participate in select field trips and receive academic scholarships.

The new inductees, listed by hometown, include:

BATAVIA: Stacey Hirchak;

CEDAR: Logan Street;

FAIRFIELD: Gitali Chandra Pierkarska Guanel;

MILTON: Amanda Gray;

OSKALOOSA: Sarah Sanders;

OTTUMWA: Luke Cavanaugh, Ashlyn Cook, Michaela Lunsford, Kristen McFarland; and

WATTALA, SRI LANKA: Bhagya Godakanda.


Bright Scholars of Iowa Award

OTTUMWA — Twelve Indian Hills Community College students are recipients of the Bright Scholars of Iowa Award for which they will receive a full-ride academic scholarship. The awards are funded by the Bright Foundation of Des Moines and students from Indian Hills, Southwestern Community College, Iowa State University, University of Iowa and University of Northern Iowa are eligible to compete for them.

The IHCC students receiving the scholarships include Ryan Blakeley of Libertyville and Holly McCoy of Batavia.

To be eligible for a Bright Scholars of Iowa Award, a student must be accepted by one of the five colleges or universities. The award is renewable for up to three additional years, providing the student maintains a 2.50 cumulative GPA. As part of the application process, the student must submit an essay describing his or her success in the face of adversity. A summary of high school and community service activities, including leadership roles, is also required.

A total of 52 awards were given out for the 2016-17 academic year.




Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.