Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 21, 2017

Iowa, Indiana, Truman State universities; Hamilton, Central colleges

Jan 15, 2014


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — Indiana State University has announced its dean’s list for the 2013 fall semester.

Allen McEldery of Batavia was recognized for academic achievement.

To be eligible for the dean’s list at Indiana State, students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.




CLINTON, N.Y. ­— Serena R. Ward, daughter of Raymond and Renee Ward of Fairfield, has been named to the dean’s list at Hamilton College for the 2013 fall semester.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must have carried a course load of four or more graded credits throughout the semester with a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

Ward, a sophomore at Hamilton College, is a graduate of Fairfield High School.




PELLA — Several area students were named to Central College’s fall 2013 dean’s list.

The list includes: Sara Eeling of Fairfield, majoring in elemetary education, the daughter of Jeff and Tari Eeling;

Mycaela Crouse of Hedrick, majoring in biology, the daughter of Steven and Jacquelyn Crouse;

Todd Clubb of Richland, the son of Sheila Clubb; and

Ty Smith of Cantril, the son of Raymond and Dynnette Smith.

The honor is awarded to full-time students who achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on a 4.0 scale while taking 12 or more graded credit hours for the semester.




KIRKSVILLE, Mo. — Truman State University has released the fall 2013 provost and vice president for academic affairs list.

Area students who earned recognition on the list include:

From Fairfield, Tori Jo Ogden, athletic training; and

From Keosauqua, Jacob Keith Wolf, agricultural science.

To qualify for the list, an undergraduate student must attain a semester 3.50-3.99 grade point average and must complete 12 semester hours of credit.




AMES — At Iowa State University’s recent winter commencement ceremonies, 1,821 students received degrees, including several from the local area.

Graduates from Fairfield included: Justin Copeland, with a Master of Education; Angela Jones, with a Master of Education; and Clinton Mercer, with a Bachelor of Science in forestry.

Graduate from Hedrick included: Kira Swanson, with a Bachelor of Science in management.

Graduate from Hillsboro included: Wendy Van Winkle, with two Bachelor of Science degrees in mechanical engineering.

Graduate from Richland included: Aaron Adam, with a Bachelor of Science in agronomy.

Iowa State awarded 1,515 undergraduate degrees, 198 master’s degrees, and 108 doctor of philosophy degrees.

Of the students receiving bachelor’s degrees, 297 graduated “with distinction” — cum laude, magna cum laude or summa cum laude. Twenty-one students graduated “with distinction” and as members of the Honors Program.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.