Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 18, 2017

July 15 deadline to submit artwork for ag art award

Jul 08, 2014

DES MOINES – The Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs reminds Iowa artists of all ages about a July deadline for submitting works for the third annual “Celebration of Iowa: Agricultural Art Award” it sponsors in partnership with the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and Iowa Farm Bureau Federation.

The theme for this year’s exhibit is “Global Stewards,” and the deadline for submissions is July 15.

The Celebration of Iowa: Agriculture Art Award is a juried art exhibit that recognizes Iowa artists and celebrates Iowa’s role as a global leader in agriculture. Artwork will be judged on innovation of concept, execution of contest theme, and the aesthetic and technical quality of the work.

Exhibit entries will be evaluated by a panel of judges arranged by Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs.

Eligible participants must be Iowa residents working in 2D — 3D, film, video, or installation work will not be accepted. All artwork must be original.

Applications must be submitted via the Iowa Arts Council’s SlideRoom, an online application portal. Only one application can be submitted per individual. The online application can be found at www.iowaartscouncil.slideroom.com.

The exhibit features $5,000 in cash prizes in both a youth division for ages 17 and younger and an adult division for ages 18 and older. The adult division will award $1,500 to first place, $1,000 to the second place, and $750 to third place.

The youth division will award $1,000 to first place, $500 to second place and $250 to third place.

The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation is sponsoring the awards.

Additional information and requirements, including artwork specifications, are available by visitingwww.iowaartscouncil.org. Inquiries regarding the contest can be directed to Veronica O’Hern, Iowa Arts Council, a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs, at veronica.ohern@iowa.gov.

Last year, entries were received from 55 artists representing 31 Iowa communities. Lori Miller of Eldridge and Allison Mosbeck of Fairfax were the winners of the 2013 contest.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.