Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 19, 2017

Millikin named to all-SEISC first team

Mar 05, 2013

■ Cardinal and Van Buren also land one player apiece on South’s first team.

The Southeast Iowa Super Conference has announced the 2012-13 all-conference teams, naming Pekin’s Cade Millikin, Van Buren’s Thomas Fitzsimmons and Cardinal’s Dakota Showman to the first team.

Millikin, a 5-foot-10 junior, helped engineer the Panthers to a 15-9 record in his first year as a starter. Millikin scored 14.8 points per contest on 43.2 percent shooting. He set team highs in assists (122) and steals (85).

Fitzsimmons, another junior, was a crucial member of the Warriors’ 14-9 campaign. The first-year starter scored 12.4 points per game on nearly 63 percent shooting, and he led the team on the glass with 5.6 boards per game. Fitzsimmons also blocked a team-leading 46 shots.

Showman, Cardinal’s senior point guard, was a leader on both sides of the ball this winter. Showman’s 11.5 points and 4.5 assists per game led the team, but he also set a team high in steals with 64.

Pekin senior Graham Wittrock was named to the North Division’s second team after he led his team in scoring with 16.1 points per game. The sharp-shooting senior made nearly 41 percent of his 3s and 79 percent of his free throws.

Other second team selections include Van Buren sophomore Garrett Saunders and Cardinal senior Jonathan Pedersen in the South Division. Saunders led Van Buren in several categories, including points (13.4 per game), assists (4.0) and steals (3.4). Pedersen scored 10.9 points and pulled in 5.3 rebounds per contest.

Honorable mention went to junior post players Brody Long and Jared Bond of Pekin in the SEISC North. In the South, Maharishi School’s Surya Sawhney and Suraj Rao were named honorable mention, as were Will Mertens and Tanner Smith of Van Buren and Charlie Rachford and Cody Carter of Cardinal.

Class 1A top-ranked Danville landed the most selections of any team with three players on the first team all-SEISC South and another two selections on the conference’s second team.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.