Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 17, 2017

Municipal challengers hope to unseat incumbents

By DIANE VANCE | Sep 20, 2013

Thursday evening was the deadline for candidates to file to be on the Nov. 5 ballot for municipal elections.

In Fairfield, the mayor and four city council seats are up for election.

Incumbent mayor Ed Malloy and challenger Gary Kessel will be on the ballot for Fairfield mayor.

Two at-large council seats, currently held by Connie Boyer and Jessica Ledger-Kalen expire. Boyer did not file for re-election.

The city council seat held by Ledger-Kalen is for a two-year term and she is running unopposed.

Boyer’s vacant at-large council position is for a four-year term and five candidates filed to fill this seat: Patrick Bosold, Doug Flournoy, Andrew Perry, Will Richards and Richard Walbaum.

Two more four-year-term council seats expire, and both incumbents, John Revolinski, representing Ward 2, and Michael Halley, representing Ward 4, are on the ballot unopposed.

A proposition will be on Fairfield’s Nov. 5 ballot. It is to bring back the Capital Improvement Reserve Fund, which the city has levied previously for 10 years, and then let it expire unintentionally, according to city clerk Joy Messer.

“This fund is mainly used for resurfacing streets,” said Messer. “It is not for water or waste water projects. The city would like to levy it again for 10 years.”

The fund brings in about $200,000 per year, she said, at a levy rate of 67.5-cents per $1,000 valuation.


Maharishi Vedic City

In Maharishi Vedic City, the mayor and all five city council seats expire. All the incumbents and no challengers filed to be on the ballot. The mayor is Robert Wynne. City council members are Chris Johnson, Maureen Wynne, Rogers Badgett, Tim Fitz-Randolph and Bill Goldstein.



Packwood has two city council seats and the mayor’s position on the ballot this year. All incumbents filed for re-election: Virgil Chandler and Raymond Chambers for city council and Dave Dickey as mayor. No one else filed.



Libertyville’s current mayor Rodney Nelson filed for re-election.

One of three incumbents, Tom Atwood filed for re-election to the city council. No other candidates filed to be on the ballot, leaving two city council seats open for write-ins or appointments.



Lockridge has the mayor’s position and three city council seats on the November ballot.

Current mayor Kenny McCarty is not running for re-election.

The three incumbent city council members Danny Nelson, Paul Corbin and Richard Richardson filed for re-election.



Batavia has the mayor’s seat and two city council positions open this election. Incumbent mayor Randy Major and former mayor Tina McCoy have filed for the mayor’s seat.

City council incumbents Mike Shipler and Dave Speas will be challenged by Sidney Fultz for the two seats on the council.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.