Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 18, 2018

Scholarships, awards presented to seniors

Jun 20, 2018

More than 90 scholarships, valued at a total of $200,000-plus, were awarded to Fairfield High School students during the FHS Awards Night May 15 in the FHS Auditorium.

The scholarships are administered or sponsored by many local businesses, service organizations, individuals, families and the Greater Jefferson County Foundation.

The scholarships varied in value from a few hundred dollars to a full-ride scholarship, and were given as either one-time amounts or as renewable scholarships. Many were open to any student without regard to the applicant’s intended field of study, while others were for students who intend to pursue careers in a medical field, business, teaching, fine arts, engineering, mathematics, vocational or agriculture related field. The criteria for applying also varied, and included, but weren’t limited to: academic records, community service, participation in activities and financial need.

Some of the awards honoring students have no monetary value.

FHS seniors, faculty and administrators extend their thanks to the local scholarship sponsors and presenters whose contributions of time and money made the awards possible. This annual local scholarship program is one of the strongest in Iowa and demonstrates the community’s dedication to its young people.

The recipients and the scholarships and awards they each received, as listed by FHS staff, were:

Aaron Haines = MidWestOne Bank, 1st National Bank, Lions, Batavia Days, IBEA Outstanding Business Education Award.

Allie Kensett = Sherry Champ, Jeanne Thoma, Robert A. Ryan Nursing.

Aluna Olaniyi = Batavia Days, Alumni, Carl & Mary Zillman Conservation Scholarship.

Amanda Carminhato = Jack Sellars Career/Tech Scholarship.

Amiah Neff = Lions, Grace Roberts Nursing, Ralph Perry Scholarship.

Andrew Alonso = Hazel Scovel Samuelson Memorial Scholarship, Ralph Perry Scholarship.

Anna Beasley = Jefferson County 4-H Youth Scholarship, Jefferson County Farm Bureau, Everett & Ella Adrian, ISU Extension & Outreach Jefferson County Scholarship.

Ashtyn Drish = Jefferson County Health Center Auxiliary, Jack Sellars Career/Tech Scholarship, Roman & Evelyn Gevock Memorial Scholarship.

Blu Schultz = Thomas & Violet Brown Scholarship, FFA Scholarship, ISU Extension & Outreach Jefferson County Scholarship, Kiwanis, Shelter Insurance, Millane Endowment Scholarship, FFA Alumni.

Brendon Lunsford = Robert Wiseman.

Cade Lisk = Ryan Brewington & Christopher Kelly Memorial Scholarship.

Cami Schaefer = IBEA Outstanding Business Education Award.

Cecilia Faircrest = Pat Goehring Memorial Scholarship.

Connor Ryan = Ralph Perry Scholarship.

Corwin Robinson = Don Kremer Art Scholarship.

David Wallingford = Rotary Challenge Scholarship, Scott Jordan Memorial, National Choral Award.

Derek Beasley = Denise Dallner Memorial.

Destiny Stetson = Ralph Perry Scholarship.

Gabriella Pollet = Everett & Ella Adrian, Mary Witosky, Ralph Perry Scholarship.

Gannon Courtright = Student Council Sportsmanship Award, Vic Rail, Fairfield Manufacturer’s Association, Everett & Ella Adrian, Dub Thoma, Kiwanis, Iowa State Bank.

Gunnar Mattson = John Phillip Sousa Award, Gallon Grad Award.

Hermela Gebremariam = Outstanding Student Council Member & US Presidential Scholar Award, Gallon Grad Award.

Hollie Nelson = Pilot Grove Savings Bank, State Elks Association Vocational Scholarship, FFA Scholarship, FFA Alumni Scholarship, ISU Extension & Outreach Jefferson County Scholarship, Jefferson County 4-H Youth Scholarship, 1st National Bank, Student Council Scholarship, Kiwanis, Gallon Grad Award.

Jaimini Korf = IBEA Outstanding Business Education Award.

James Lyman = Ralph Perry Scholarship.

Jarod Willmon = Christina Hixson Award.

Jesse Birlson = Washington State Bank Scholarship.

Jordan Gueizmane = Community 1st Credit Union, Student Council Scholarship.

Kelly Petersen = IBEA Outstanding Business Education Award.

Kirsi Bland = Elks #1192 Charitable Trust, Scott Jordan Community Scholarship, Lions.

Kolten Webber = IBEA Outstanding Business Education Award, Quincy Jones Award.

Kristen Daugherty = Student Council Good Samaritan, FCEA, Charlotte Lamb, Jefferson County 4-H Youth Scholarship, Fairfield Rotary Club, Leona F. Nady Music Scholarship, ISU Extension & Outreach Jefferson County Scholarship, Kiwanis, Jefferson County. Republican Scholarship, National Choral Award.

Lydia Larsh = Nellie Neff Scholarship, Carl & Mary Zillman Conservation Scholarship.

Madelyn Smith = Jackson Music Scholarship, Jefferson County. Health Center Auxiliary Scholarship, Democratic Scholarship.

Natalie Brader = Elks #1192 Local Lodge Scholarship, Hawthorne Direct, Outstanding Student Council Member, Jefferson County Democratic Scholarship, IBEA Outstanding Business Education Award, Iowa State Bar Association American Citizenship Award.

Nicole Buch = Iowa State Bank, Student Council Sportsmanship Award.

Phoenix Haessler = Student Council Fine Arts Scholarship, Ron Prill Scholarship, Jackson Music Scholarship, Louis Armstrong Award.

Shawn Spurrier = Student Council Good Samaritan, Vic Rail, Dub Thoma.

Steeler Higdon = Fairfield Manufacturers Association, Ruth Sellers.

Stetson Spees = ISU Extension & Outreach Jefferson County Scholarship, Jefferson County 4-H Youth Scholarship.

Taylor Blomme = Leo & Marion M. Nady (AG) Scholarship, Jefferson County Pork Producers Scholarship.

Taylor Myers = Fairfield Rotary Club Scholarship.

Trenady Sammons = Medical Scholarship, Roanne Larson Nursing Scholarship, Gallon Grad Award.

Kelsey Hollander = Pepsi Scholarship.


Faculty scholarships

Jennifer Christensen (Washington Elementary Special Needs) = Harold Turner Faculty Scholarship.

Shawn Dorman (FHS Social Studies Teacher) = Jim “Lefty” Leyden Scholarship.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.