Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 19, 2018

School board special election Oct. 17

By Andy Hallman | Oct 03, 2017

The Fairfield Community School District’s board of directors will hold a special election Oct. 17 to fill a vacancy.

Former school board president Phil Miller won election to the Iowa House of Representatives in August, thus having to vacate his position on the board. The board appointed Ryan Kurka to fill the vacancy later that month, and received a petition calling for a special election, which it is honoring. A little more than two years remain on the seat previously occupied by Miller.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. that day. The candidates running are Kurka, sitting school board member Jennifer Anderson and challengers Michael Lane and Ben Picard. Voters will select one candidate.

Anderson, Lane and Picard all ran in the Sept. 12 election to fill one of the three four-year terms. Lane dropped out before election day, but his name still appeared on the ballot.

In that election, Anderson came in fourth place with 593 votes and Picard came in eighth with 422 votes. The top three candidates were selected to the board, and they were Frank Broz with 1,171 votes, Debi Plum with 1,126 and Kelly Scott with 666.


Voting information

Early voting for the election is already underway at the courthouse, which is open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Early voting lasts until the day before the election, Oct. 16.

The pre-registration deadline is at 5 p.m. Friday, and the last day to request an absentee ballot is 5 p.m. on Oct. 13. Absentee ballots must be postmarked no later than Oct. 16, and must be received in the auditor’s office no later than noon on Oct. 23.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.