Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 21, 2017

SEISC announces All-Conference teams

Pekin, MSAE, Van Buren, Cardinal each represented
By ALLYUS FRITZ/Ledger sports editor | Mar 05, 2014
Photo by: ALLYUS FRITZ/Ledger photo Van Buren’s Garrett Saunders handles the basketball Saturday against Keota in Oskaloosa.

The Southeast Iowa Super Conference has announced its All-Conference boys’ basketball teams for the 2013-14 season.

The Van Buren Warriors, who finished one game away from making a state tournament appearance, have three players who made the SEISC-South Division first team. Seniors Tom Fitzsimmons and Tanner Smith both made the squad. Fitzsimmons led the Warriors with 374 points and finished second in the conference in blocks with 50 and rebounds with 210. Smith finished third in the conference with 185 rebounds. Junior guard Garrett Saunders rounds out the first-team selections for the Warriors. Saunders averaged 14.7 points per game and was first on the team in assists (123).

Junior Brandon Plecker and sophomore Will Mertens made second team All-Conference. Robbie Laughlin and Pedrick Garrett were both honorable mentions.

In the SEISC-North Division, Pekin coach Ken Hutchinson was named Coach of the Year after leading the Panthers to a 19-4 record. Three Pekin seniors, Cade Millikin, Brody Long and Jared Bond, made first team All-Conference. Millikin led the Panthers in scoring with 13.5 points per game. Long led the conference in rebounds with 230 and averaged 13.1 points per game. Bond was Pekin’s third highest scorer, averaging 12.4 points per game. He also finished second on the team in rebounds with 171.

Pekin seniors Petie Clubb and Eric Adam both were honorable mentions. Clubb led the conference in assists with 119 on the season.

Cardinal junior Kaleb Durflinger was selected to the SEISC-South second team. Durflinger led the Comets in rebounds (162), blocks (14) and was second on the team in points scored (250). Cody Streeby and Charlie Rachford both were honorable mentions this season.

The Maharishi School of the Age of Enlightenment had two players make the SEISC-South second team. Surya Sawhney led the Pioneers in scoring, assists (41), blocks (44), and rebounds with 150. Suraj Pullapantula also made the second team. Pullapantula was second on the team in scoring and led the Pioneers with 33 steals.

MSAE’s Avery Mullenneaux and Rashan Anderson both were honorable mentions.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.