Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 22, 2017

SIEDA helping Jefferson County recover from flood

May 22, 2013

OTTUMWA – The Southern Iowa Economic Development Association is assisting Jefferson County residents who apply for the state’s disaster grant program to recover from flood damage.

The state’s program offers a maximum grant of $5,000 to families with incomes at or below twice the federal poverty index. For a family of two, this means having a gross income of about $31,000 a year.

SIEDA also is assisting residents who live in Appanoose, Davis, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren and Wapello counties.

On May 7, Gov. Terry Branstad launched the disaster grant program in Appanoose, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Ringgold, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren and Wayne counties.

People who have enough funds to make repairs may seek reimbursement through a grant application available under the Disaster Assistance link on the Department of Human Services homepage, dhs.iowa.gov.

People who do not have enough money for repairs, and who live in the SIEDA Community Actions service area, can contact the agency for assistance. The agency will determine eligibility and help people complete the application process. For more information contact SIEDA Community Action at 1-800-622-8340.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.