Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 20, 2017

Special school board election Tuesday

Mar 31, 2014

Eligible voters in the Fairfield Community School District will have a chance to go to the polls Tuesday to elect a school board member and vote on the Physical Plant and Equipment Levy.

Candidates Stephen Pumphrey and Phil Miller are competing for the spot on the school board. The opening was created in November when school board member Amy Miller resigned to move to Des Moines. Whoever wins Tuesday’s election will serve the remainder of Amy Miller’s four-year term, which will be up for re-election in September 2015.

Phil Miller was appointed to the board in November to temporarily fill the vacancy until the special election was called.

The special election also is asking voters to approve a 10-year continuation of the 67-cent Physical Plant and Equipment Levy. The current PPEL expires in FY15. The funds are used to purchase buses, technology and other equipment.

Polls are open noon to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Polling places for this school district election are:

• Jefferson County Courthouse for residents of city of Fairfield, Locust Grove Township, Buchanan Township, Cedar Township, Center Township, Maharishi Vedic City, and the portion of the Fairfield Community School District lying within Pleasant Plain Township in Wapello County.

• Libertyville Community Center for residents of the city of Libertyville, Libertyville Township, Des Moines Township, and the portions of the school district lying within Village Township and Lick Creek Township in Van Buren County.

• Lockridge school gym for residents of the city of Lockridge, Lockridge Township, Round Prairie Township, Walnut Township and that portion of the school district lying within Trenton Township in Henry County.

• Pleasant Plain community building for residents of the city of Pleasant Plain, Blackhawk Township, Penn Township, and the portion of the school district lying within Clay Township, Washington.

Absentee ballots are available through the auditor’s office at Jefferson County Courthouse. A request for an absentee ballot needs to be to the auditor’s office by Friday. If mailing a voted ballot, the latest postmark accepted is Monday.

Absentee ballot voting can also be done in person in the auditor’s office, up to 11 a.m. Tuesday, an hour before polls open.

The auditor’s office regular hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.