Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 19, 2017

SPORTS IN BRIEF: Davis Eidahl, Fairfield basketball camp, Van Buren baseball, Pacesetter sports

Jul 01, 2014

Eidahl Coach of the Year finalist

Pekin High School cross-country, track & field and girls’ basketball coach Davis Eidahl has been named as a finalist for the 2014 Brooks Inspiring Coaches Award.

Anyone who wishes to read about Eidahl and the other nominees can visit the Brooks Running Facebook page. Anyone can vote for their favorite candidate as well.


Basketball camp set for Monday

Fairfield High School girls’ basketball coach Mick Flattery will be conducting a girls’ basketball camp beginning Monday that will run the entire week in FHS gymnasium.

Grades 8-12 will practice from 8-10 a.m. and grades 4-7 will practice from 10 a.m. to noon.

There is a $40 registration fee that can be mailed directly to Flattery at 501 Belaire Drive in Fairfield.

Participants can sign up at the door on the day of the camp.


Warriors cruise to road victory

A trip to Holy Trinity Catholic produced a 16-0 win for the Van Buren High School baseball team Monday.

Tanner Smith pitched all five innings for the Warriors. Smith allowed just three hits and struck out eight.

Leadoff hitter Garrett Saunders went 3-5 and scored three runs. Tyson Sprouse smacked three hits and drove in three runs. Brandon Plecker, Will Mertens, Zach Smith and Noah Whitten each had two RBIs.

The Warriors (22-2) are scheduled to play at New London tonight.


Pacesetter game includes team from Mt. Pleasant

Four teams won the first two Pacesetter Great Four-State Youth Basketball Championships at the Target Center Saturday and Sunday in Minneapolis.

The Brandon Valley (SD) girls and the Ankeny (IA) boys won the seventh-grade championships on Saturday, and the Sleepy Eye (MN) girls and the Mt. Pleasant boys won the eighth-grade titles. This four-state championship playoff system began in March involving more than 800 youth teams.

The Mt. Pleasant boys faced Northfield (MN) in the championship and won 37-31.

The top two teams from four Pacesetter state tournaments were invited to represent their state in the tournament in Minneapolis. This tournament system is sponsored by both the Minnesota Lynx and the Minnesota Timberwolves and is coordinated by Pacesetter Sports.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.