Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 23, 2017

SPORTS IN BRIEF: Hoops star chooses Iowa, Ejim voted Big 12 Player of Year

Mar 10, 2014

Juco hoops star in North Dakota commits to Iowa

WILLISTON, N.D. (AP) — Williston State College point guard Trey Dickerson plans to play for the University of Iowa the next three years.

The 6-foot freshman from New York City gave a verbal commitment to the NCAA Division I Hawkeyes over the weekend.

Dickerson had received interest from numerous schools and offers from Iowa, Nebraska, Iona, Washington, Washington State, Arkansas, Alabama-Birmingham, St. Louis and Fordham, according to Williston State, a two-year junior college in northwestern North Dakota.

Dickerson said a visit to the Iowa campus sold him on the school.

“After the first night in Iowa City I felt like I was home,” he said. “I felt comfortable; I never really felt that way about other schools.”

Dickerson this season helped lead the Tetons to a 26-5 regular season record and a Mon-Dak Conference title. He was named most valuable player in the conference, with an average of 20 points, six assists and four rebounds per game.

“I’m happy that Trey found a school he really liked and could see himself as a good fit for the next three years,” Teton head coach Eric Peterson said. “Our job is to prepare our athletes for the next level, whether it’s (after) one or two years at Williston State. He will be greatly missed in our program.”


Melvin Ejim named AP Big 12 Player of Year

Iowa State senior forward Melvin Ejim is The Associated Press Big 12 Player of the Year.

The AP awards were announced Monday, when Ejim and Kansas freshman Andrew Wiggins were unanimous picks on the All-Big 12 first team. Wiggins is the league’s Freshman of the Year.

Ejim was second in the Big 12 with both his 18.2 points and 8.6 rebounds a game. No other league player ranked in the top 10 in both of those categories.

Ejim and Wiggins are joined on the first team by league scoring leader Juwan Staten from West Virginia, Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart and Iowa State’s DeAndre Kane, the Marshall transfer who was the unanimous choice as the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year.

Oklahoma’s Lon Kruger is the AP Coach of the Year.

SECOND TEAM: Markel Brown, Oklahoma St., Joel Embiid, Kansas, Marcus Foster, Kansas St., Buddy Hield, Oklahoma, and Cory Jefferson, Baylor.

HONORABLE MENTION: Kyan Anderson, TCU; Bryce Chery, Baylor; Cameron Clark, Oklahoma; Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Eron Harris, West Virginia; Jonathan Holmes, Texas; Georges Niang, Iowa St.; Cameron Ridley, Texas; Ryan Spangler, Oklahoma; Isaiah Taylor, Texas.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.