Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

Students inducted into National Honor Society

Nov 16, 2012
PHOTO SUBMITTED New inductees into the National Honor Society at Fairfield High School were: from left, front row, Huma Liptak, Sidney Baumann, Kara Greiner, Jaclyn Flinspach, Joanna Funkhouser, Makayla Kessel, Claudia Sloat, Cheyanne Laux; middle row, Marisa Repp, Hanna Greiner, Sage Richmond, Jessica Lamb, Erin Thompson, Rachel Hathaway, Brooke Stever; and back row, Jordan Whitney, Jonathan Swanson, Matt Carr, Coren Hucke, Jacob Kessel, Mason Ellis, Jacob Mineart, Joseph Hietpas, Emma Hawk. Eden Bell is not pictured.

The annual induction ceremony for the Fairfield High School chapter of the National Honor Society was held at 7 p.m. Monday in the high school auditorium.

Highlights of the ceremony included the videos and speeches discussing the NHS qualifications of character, scholarship, leadership and service.

Speaking about leadership, Mitch Goudy noted, “One person showing leadership can change an entire atmosphere, whether it’s a classroom, or the world.”

The character video, created by Makena Dettman, Kayla Septer and Haley Grunwald, asserted that “An NHS member does what he/she believes is right, even if there is no personal reward for it.”

In the scholarship video, produced by Kaitlyn Daugherty, Wyatt Andersen and Jennifer Clements, the audience was reminded scholars participate in class, complete their own work and aren’t afraid to ask “Why?”

Jacob Greiner, while presenting the service video created by Adam Mueller, Ashley Henkel and himself, stated “Servants choose to serve in order to show kindness, in order to help out, in order to make the world a better place through their actions, whether those actions are big or small.”

An additional highlight was the Vox choir’s performance of “Dominus Vobiscum” with soloist Dakota Andersen. This choir, led by Zach Reiter, is composed of the finest singers at FHS.

Twenty-five members were then inducted during the traditional candle-lighting ceremony led by Makena Dettman. Jenna Nelson, local NHS president, led the new and old members in the NHS pledge. After the ceremony, parents and friends greeted all members at a reception in the high school commons.

Current senior members are: Wyatt Andersen, Jaci Bell, Jennifer Clements, Kaitlyn Daugherty, Makena Dettman, Mitch Goudy, Jacob Greiner, Haley Grunwald, Ashley Henkel, Adam Mueller, Jenna Nelson and Kayla Septer. Newly inducted seniors are: Sidney Baumann, Rachel Hathaway, Emma Hawk, Jacob Kessel, Jessica Lamb, Jacob Mineart, Sage Richmond, Jonathan Swanson and Erin Thompson. Newly inducted juniors are: Eden Bell, Matt Carr, Mason Ellis, Jaclyn Flinspach, Joanna Funkhouser, Hanna Greiner, Kara Greiner, Joseph Hietpas, Coren Hucke, Makayla Kessel, Cheyanne Laux, Huma Liptak, Marisa Repp, Claudia Sloat, Brooke Stever and Jordan Whitney.

Members of NHS must be juniors or seniors with a 3.3 or higher cumulative grade point average. Students complete a form, listing their activities, leadership roles and service completed. All teachers are able to nominate students for membership. Finally, a committee of teachers chooses the members to be inducted, based on their nominations and forms completed.

The National Honor Society was established in 1921. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding high school students in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. It is sponsored and supervised by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. Local co-sponsors are Sharon Flinspach and Jim Edgeton.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.