Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 17, 2017

Voters in Van Buren County’s unincorporated areas: No LOSST

By VICKI TILLIS, Ledger news editor | Nov 07, 2012

Sixty-eight percent of Van Buren County’s registered voters cast ballots in the general election Tuesday.

Several county races were uncontested: Robert Waugh (R) was elected to the Van Buren County Board of Supervisors with 2,806 votes; Jon Finney (R) was re-elected as county auditor with 3,036 votes; and Dan Tedrow (R) was re-elected county sheriff with 3,041 votes.

In the State Representative District 82 race, Van Buren voters cast 1,774 votes for James Johnson (R); and 1,689 for Curt Hanson (D).

In the U.S. Representative District 2 race, Van Buren County voters cast 1,858 votes for John Archer (R); 1,544 for Dave Loebsack (D); and 85 for Alan Aversa (NBP).

In the president and vice president race, Romney and Ryan (R) received 2,058 votes; Obama and Biden (D) received 1,398; Goode/Clymer (CON), 22; Stein/Honkala (IAG), 19; Johnson/Gray (LIB), 35; LiVira/Beacham (SOC), 0; Harris/Kennedy (SWP), 0; and Litzel/Litzel (NBP), 8.

Van Buren County voters elected two county hospital trustees: Curtis Lee McIntosh with 2,376 votes and Michael W. Thomas with 2,099 votes. Lloyd Foster received 1,869 votes.

Elected to the three soil and water commissioner seats were Steve Lyon with 2,169 votes; Dennis Gratz with 2,013 and Alicia M. Bales with 1,969.

The four Ag Extension Council seats will be filled by: Steven Kisling, with 2,132 votes; Kathy Noll with 1,857; Jill Chaplin with 1,397; and Sandra Coffman with 1,340. DiAnna Strait Allen received 1,151 votes, and Ronald V. Fransen received 1,080.

Farmington voters elected two city council members: Terra Pohren, with 222 votes. Voters submitted a total of 157 write-in votes. John Armstrong received the most write-in votes, and will be asked to serve as a councilman, but he can decline.

Stockport voters elected one city council member: Matthew Robert Tucker, with 81 votes.

Local Option Sales and Service Tax measures were approved in Birmingham, 129 to 67; Bonaparte, 107 to 71; Cantril, 59 to 29; Milton, 112 to 27; and Stockport, 67 to 39. But voters in the unincorporated areas of the county did not approve the LOSST measure: 904 voted no, while 836 voted yes.

Van Buren County voters cast votes to retain Iowa Supreme Court judges Edward Mansfield, Thomas D. Waterman and Bruce A. Zager, but not David S. Wiggins.

They also voted to retain judges of the Iowa Court of Appeals: Michael Mullins, Mary Ellen Tabor and Anuradha Vaitheswaran; judges of the District Court: Lucy Gamon and Myron Gookin; and associate judge of the District Court: Crystal Cronk.

Of the 5,311 registered voters in Van Buren County, 3,589 voted.

Van Buren County Auditor Jon Finney issued a reminder that these numbers are unofficial until canvassed by the Van Buren County supervisors Monday.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.