Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 21, 2017

White House approves Iowa request for disaster declaration

Sep 30, 2016

DES MOINES (AP) — The governor’s office says the White House has issued a presidential disaster declaration for eight Iowa counties hit hard by several storms in late August.

The office of Gov. Terry Branstad said today that the counties are Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Mitchell, and Winneshiek. The governor requested the declaration on Sept. 19, after the counties sustained damage from storms Aug. 23-27.

The presidential declaration will provide federal help under the Public Assistance Program. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of damaged facilities and may include debris removal.

The governor’s office says this declaration is the 23rd such Iowa has received since March 2007.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.