Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Jul 16, 2018

Women’s Hall of Fame Honorees to be inducted

Aug 07, 2017

WEST DES MOINES — Four remarkable women will be inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame at 9:30 a.m. Aug. 26 at the Staplin Performing Arts Center at Valley High School in West Des Moines.

The event is free and open to the public. Attendees do not need to register. Attendees should note the change in location.

The Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame is held in conjunction with Women’s Equality Day, Aug. 26, which commemorates the day in 1920 when American women first obtained the right to vote.

Highlights include:

• Hall of Fame awards to:

Jane Boyd (deceased), Cedar Rapids; U.S. Senator Joni K. Ernst, Red Oak; Council member Christine Hensley, Des Moines; and Gov. Kimberly K. Reynolds, Osceola; and

• Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice to: Alicia Parrott Claypool, West Des Moines.

To celebrate the honorees and their families and friends, the Friends of the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women will host a reception immediately following the ceremony in the atrium of the Staplin Performing Arts Center.

The Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Iowa Commission on the Status of Women.

Awards will be presented to the recipients by Sherill Whisenand, chairwoman of the 2017 Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame Selection Committee, Rachelle Hunt Russian and Elizabeth Coonan, commissioners.

As of 2017, 172 women will have been inducted into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.