Fairfield Ledger

Mt. Pleasant News   Wash Journal
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 20, 2017

Youth represent Iowa 4-H at national event

Mar 28, 2017
Joy Westercamp

AMES – Five 4-H youth, including Joy Westercamp of Van Buren County, are representing Iowa at the National 4-H Conference in Washington, D.C.

The conference began Saturday and runs through Thursday.

Westercamp, Scott Magnuson from Worth County, Zachary Mass of Mills County, Jessica Bigelow of Polk County, and Landra Reece of Boone County are representing the Iowa 4-H Youth Development program during the working conference, said Bonnie Dalager, a program coordinator with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H Youth Development.

Cherry Sandeen, an ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H youth field specialist, is the youths’ chaperone.

ISU Extension and Outreach sends delegates to the National 4-H Conference each year; youth are eligible to attend once. Delegates must submit an application and interview at State 4-H Recognition Day to attend the conference.

“Delegates are selected on their experience and skills in leadership, citizenship and communication,” Dalager said.

“Youth delegates engage in supporting and advocating for the 4-H Youth Development program in their communities ... with representatives and senators on Capitol Hill. ... they will work with teams of youth from around the country to identify and share solutions to current issues affecting young people today,” Dalager said. “Their solutions are presented to groups of government officials, members of national associations and with stakeholders. The long-term goal is that these young people will continue to share the knowledge and skills they’ve gained with their peers and with leaders in their own communities when they return home.”

Westercamp, 17, is the daughter of Steven and Christine Westercamp. An eight-year 4-H member, she has participated in beekeeping, rabbit, communications, food and nutrition, and swine projects. She has served as a state 4-H council member, has won state project area awards and local leadership awards, and has served as her club’s treasurer, secretary and president.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.